Product added to cart. View Cart

BLUE TRAIN (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) [STEREO] 2LP

  • $54.99
    Unit price per 

On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder’s living room studio in Hackensack, New Jersey and recorded his first great masterpiece: Blue Train. It would be the legendary saxophonist’s sole album as a leader for Blue Note, a locomotive 5-track album fueled by the bluesy title track that featured a dynamic 6-piece band with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Kenny Drew on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album’s recording, Blue Train will be released as a special edition, part of Blue Note’s acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series. This 2-LP stereo pressing of Blue Train: The Complete Masters which includes a 2nd disc of alternate and incomplete takes, 4 of which have never been released before, and none of which have been available previously on vinyl. The 2-LP set comes with a bound booklet featuring session photos by Francis Wolff and an essay by Coltrane expert Ashley Kahn.

Tone Poet Vinyl Editions were produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in deluxe gatefold tip-on jackets.

Tracklist: 2 LP Stereo Complete Masters
A1: Blue Train
A2: Moment’s Notice
B1: Locomotion
B2: I’m Old Fashioned
B3: Lazy Bird
C1: Blue Train (False Start)
C2: Blue Train (Alternate Take 7)
C3: Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 4)
C4: Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 1)
D1: Blue Train (Alternate Take 8)
D2: Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 5A Incomplete)
D3: Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 2)

Limit 1 per customer
UPC: 602445481071
Usually ships within 48hrs

We Also Recommend